SHEARING board from the ‘THIRTIES
This tableau recreates a shearing board from the 1930s. It uses shearing gang models made by Nigel Ogle from the Tawhiti Museum, Hawera. This board is in the Glendonald Shed section of the complex. It had only four machine shearing stands when it was retired but when originally built in 1902, it had eight stands for blade shearers. It was constructed with local native timbers: rimu, matai and totara.
Joinery throughout the museum uses native timbers salvaged from Wairarapa farms.
This is one of three areas in The Wool Shed where visitors can press buttons to hear authentic sounds. Here the sounds include the shearing board itself, and dogs working with sheep in the yards. Elsewhere in the museum, visitors can hear a traction engine and listen to interviews with former shearing champions and farm workers.
At left in the photo is part of collection of spinning wheels.